Abstract Committee

2021-2022 Abstract Committee




Megan Jacobs, MD
Oregon Health & Sciences University
Portland, OR




Kate McCacken, MD
Nationwide Children's Hospital, Colombus, OH's
Seattle, WA

Aimee Alphonso Morrison, MD
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA



 Maria Brown, MD
Nationwide Children's Hospital
Columbus, OH


Maria Demma Cabral, MD
University of Mississippi Medical Center
Jackson, MS


Melina Dendrinos, MD
Henry Ford Health System
West Bloomfield, MI 


Candice Dersch, MD
Tufts University School of Medicine
Boston, MA


Amy DiVasta, MD
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA 


Frederick Eruo, MD
Central Michigan University
Saginaw, MI



Tazim Dowlut-McElroy, MD
National Institute of Health
Bethesda, MD 


Sarah Green, MD
Children’s Hospital Colorado 
Aurora, CO


Celeste Ojeda Hemingway, MD
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, TN

Andrea Huneeus, MD, MPH
Universidad del Desarrollo 



Jason Jarin, MD
UTSW Medical Center Children's Health
Dallas, TX


Katrina Nicandri, MD
Golisano Children's Hospital
Rochester, NY



Laura Parks, MD
University of Kansas
Kansas City, KS

Rachael L. Polis, DO, MPH
Crozer Keystone Health System
Upland, PA



Shandhini Raidoo, MD
University of Hawaii
Honolulu, HI


 Monica Rosen, MD
University of Michigan Medical School
Ann Arbor, MI



Jennifer Salcedo, MD, MPH, MPP, FACOG 
University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
Edinburg, TX


Anna Jo Smith, MPH, MSc
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD



Kristl Tomlin, MD
University of South Carolina
Columbia, SC 

Amber Truehart, MD
The University of Chicago
Chicago, IL


Alla Vash-Margita, MD
Yale Medicine
New Haven, CT

Akilah Weber, MD
UCSD/Rady Children's
San Diego, CA





ACRM Abstract Research Awards

  • Huffman-Capraro Award ($1000)  This is awarded for the best oral research presentation by a trainee (Fellow, Resident or Student). Priority is given for experimental study designs and to prospective studies. Authors whose abstracts are chosen for an oral presentation must submit a letter from their program director or department head, attesting to the degree of involvement by the trainee in the research and in the preparation of the abstract.
  • Evelyn Green Laufer Award for the best overall oral presentation, as judged by the Abstract Committee.
  • Sally E. Perlman Award for the best overall poster presentation.
  • Resident Education Committee Award for Innovation in Medical Education ($500) for best original research oral or poster presentation. Submissions for consideration should further evidence-based teaching practices directed towards medical student, resident, and fellow education. Specific criteria will look at the use of education theories and innovative strategies in trainee education.
  • Health Disparities Research Award ($500) for best original research abstract focusing on and highlighting disparities in groups who have systematically faced greater obstacles in obtaining and maintaining health resources based on their racial or ethnic group, religion, socioeconomic status, sex, gender, disability, sexual orientation, geographic location, or other characteristics linked to discrimination. Studies should address not only the disparities but focus on future actions and/or demonstrate how research, advocacy, education, or clinical intervention can affect outcomes for those impacted by healthcare disparities.

To send an email to the Abstract Committee please use [email protected]