Young Scholars Grants

Recipients of the 2014 Young Scholar Grants

NASPAG established the Young Scholars Grant to provide a venue for physicians-in-training and advanced practice nurses in training to express their interest in pediatric and adolescent gynecology.  Residents and Fellows were asked to submit an essay on the topic “Discuss how a case seen in your training shifted your career interests toward pediatric and adolescent gynecology”.  Advanced practice nursing candidates were required to submit an essay on the topic “Describe an interesting pediatric and adolescent gynecology case that you have been involved in during your clinical rotations and how this conference would benefit you in school as well as in your future practice.”

The three recipients of the physicians-in-training Young Scholars Grants were: Andrea Hoopes, MD (University of Washington/Seattle Children's, Seattle, WA), Maya Kumar, MD (Children's Hospital Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA), Meghan Meghpara, DO (Rowan School of Osteopathic Medicine, Stratford, NJ).  The recipient of the advanced practice nursing Young Scholars Grant was Lisa Weinstein, MSN (Yale University School of Nursing, Orange, CT).

Thank you to Lauren Damle, MD; Katherine Debiec, MD; and Jennifer Kurkowski, MSN, WHNP-BC for their efforts with coordinating the Young Scholars Grant program!